Posted by: hmchang | July 19, 2007

Business: Four Types of Employees

Days ago, PPK told me that there are four types of employees:
(1) Smart and diligent (2) Smart and lazy (3) Stupid and diligent (4) Stupid and lazy

The most undesired type of employee is type 3. It is because this type of people does not accomplish much, but since they want to do their best, they tend to take up other’s time and resources. The first Type is suitable to be a first tier manager. Second type can be a good CEO and finally, the last type is suitable to do whatever routine works.

Concerning my internship work, I think I am really a type 3 employee. I try to finish assigned work as much as I can everyday. However, for 90% of the time, my simulation result is off and need senior engineers’ help to fixing my bug. Take today’s presentation as an example, I cannot express smoothly the key idea behind each simulation, so that my mentor keep helping me on expressing a more thorough picture. I would say it is a huge opportunity cost for them to hire me as an intern!

Nevertheless, in running the start-up project, I become a type 2 employee. I like to think about potential businesses but takes actions only after thoughtful discussions. Apparently, I am more prudent and concern about this project than my intern work. Even during the intermission of my simulation, I think about my start-up project.

I can also try to categorize the team members in my start-up project into these four categories. The main problem is that they are not so motivated. Driving them is a tough task to do! I hope I can find some Type 1 employee to work in our team – or transform current team members into type 1?

Responses

  1. I think the admin of this web site is actually working hard in favor of his website, since here every material is quality
    based stuff.

  2. When I originally commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now each time a comment is added I get several emails
    with the same comment. Is there any way you can remove people
    from that service? Thanks a lot!


Leave a Reply

Categories

